On Sept. 8, 2017, Gov. Kay Ivey issued the fourth emergency declaration over a 10-day period related to hurricane activity. The latest directive acknowledges the storm’s path includes Alabama and eases regulations for filling prescriptions for noncontrolled substances.
On Sept. 6, 2017, the governor issued a supplemental transportation emergency declaration for Alabama at the request of Florida Gov. Rick Scott.
The broadened declaration allows retailers and others moving needed emergency and disaster preparedness supplies through Alabama to Florida in anticipation of Hurricane Irma to exceed the hours of service or spend less time off duty than required by federal law. The waiver only applies to the time a driver is delivering the disaster supplies for up to 30 days after the emergency declaration, or until the declaration ends. Under federal law, a driver may drive only during a period of 14 consecutive hours after coming on duty following 10 consecutive hours off duty. The proclamation loosens that regulation only as it relates to the timely delivery of disaster supplies for the 30 days or less of the emergency declaration.
The Sept. 6 declaration also waives weight regulations on commercial vehicles transporting emergency-related goods in direct response to Hurricane Harvey or in preparation for, or response to, Hurricane Irma.
The governor originally declared a state of emergency in Alabama on Aug. 30 and Sept. 1. The initial declarations were limited to those transporting petroleum products and petroleum-related supplies. The Sept. 6 supplement extends the declaration to transporting “all materials, supplies, goods and services – including, but not limited to, food, water and portable generators – in direct support of disaster preparation and emergency relief efforts for Hurricanes Harvey and Irma.”
When Alabama experiences a state of emergency, Alabama’s price gouging law is in effect.
ALABAMA’S PRICE GOUGING LAW: Makes it unlawful for anyone to raise prices on commodities or lodging by more than 25 percent during the declared state of emergency. To avoid violating Alabama’s price gouging law, figure the price charged for each of the previous 30 days. Add the 30 daily prices, divide by 30, and multiply the price by .25, or 25 percent, to figure the maximum price increase allowed for any one day. The exception is if a wholesale price increases by more than 25 percent and merchants have no choice but to pass along the price increase.
The fine for violating Alabama’s price gouging law can be up to $1,000 per incident. Those who willfully and continually violate the law can be banned from doing business in Alabama.
- For medical and life-threatening emergencies, dial 9-1-1.
- Drivers can report an accident or other emergencies to state troopers by dialing *HP on their cellular devices.
- Businesses that want to know how to help or donate to relief efforts, call 2-1-1.
Click the links below for more of your local weather information.
For real-time road conditions, the Alabama Department of Transportation encourages you to visit https://algotraffic.com/
Visit Alabama Retail’s Emergency Preparedness page for other links to the state’s emergency management resources.