The largest legislative victory for Alabama retailers in 2017 was delivery license reform.
Since Aug. 1, 2017, retailers have been able to deliver up to $10,000 in merchandise annually to a city before a $100 delivery license is required under Act No. 2017-415.
Many cities send out notices at the first of the year to businesses that have previously purchased delivery licenses. Until your business delivers $10,000 of goods into a municipality where it does not have a store or other physical presence, no license is required.
The Alabama Retail Association-backed law also caps issuance fees and penalties at $10 each and limits interest rates. A business has 45 days to get a delivery license once it reaches the $10,000 annual threshold.