Nominate a Retailer of the Year

Nominations will be accepted through Monday, May 19, for the 2014 Retailer of the Year awards, which are presented by the Alabama Retail Association in conjunction with the University of Alabama at Birmingham Collat School of Business. The Retailer of the Year Awards, begun in 1999, recognize deserving Alabama retailers who have demonstrated a blend of sound business practices with commitment to their communities, customers and employees. 2014 marks the 15th year for these prestiguous awards.

Awards are given in four categories based on annual sales volume:

  • less than $1 million
  • $1 million to $5 million
  • $5 million to $20 million and
  • more than $20 million

Nominees must operate or manage a retail business in Alabama, which has been in business for at least five years. To be considered a retailer, the business must collect state and local sales taxes. (Banks, insurance agencies and dry cleaners do not qualify.) Gold winners can only be recognized once within a sales category. All other previous winners can be nominated in subsequent years.

An independent selection committee chooses Bronze, Silver and Gold Award winners in each sales volume category when warranted. The selection committee is made up of representatives from the media, chambers of commerce, fellow retailers and representatives from the academic community.

Nominations for Retailer of the Year must be received by Monday, May 19. Nominees then will be asked to complete entry forms, which must be received by Friday, June 20. Winners will be notified by Aug. 1. The winners will be recognized this fall during Retail Day in Birmingham.