Last Day to Nominate an Alabama Retailer of the Year

The Alabama Retail Association will accept nominations for the 2015 Retailer of the Year awards through Monday, May 18. This prestigious award, which celebrates its 16th observance this year, recognizes outstanding retailers who have demonstrated a blend of sound business practices with commitment to their communities, customers and employees.



A winning entry is a retailer who has been a credit to retailing and an asset to their community. Retailers provide jobs, serve their communities and help boost Alabama’s economy,” said Alabama Retail President Rick Brown. “The Retailer of the Year awards honor just a few of the many outstanding retailers who make a positive difference every day in the communities they serve.”

Anyone may nominate an Alabama retailer and nominators may submit multiple retailers for consideration in any given award year. Previous nominees who did not receive an award may be nominated again. Gold winners can only be recognized once in a sales category. All other previous winners can be nominated in subsequent years. Self-nominations are appropriate.

List of Previous Winners

If sufficient nominations are received, finalists will be selected in four categories by sales volume:

  •  Less than $1 million
  • $1 million to $5 million
  • $5 million to $20 million
  • More than $20 million

A Bronze, Silver and Gold Award may be presented in the first three categories, but only a Gold Award winner will be presented in the More than $20 Million Annual Sales Category. A single winner also will be named as the Chain Retailer of the Year and/or Franchise Retailer of the Year. Individual franchises and/or chains are eligible for an annual sales volume award.

Nominees must own, operate or manage a retail business with a physical presence in Alabama and that Alabama location must have been in operation for a minimum of five years. To be considered a retail operation, a business must collect state and local sales taxes. (Banks, insurance agencies and dry cleaners do not qualify.)

Upon being nominated, each nominee will be sent an entry form that must be completed and returned to Alabama Retail no later than Friday, June 19. Winners will be notified by Aug. 3. The 2015 Retailer of the Year recipients will be honored at a luncheon in the fall held in conjunction with the University of Alabama at Birmingham Collat School of Business’ Retail Day. The recipient’s nominators also will be invited to attend. Neither nominators nor nominees have to be Alabama Retail members to participate.

For additional information on the Retailer of the Year Awards or to make a nomination by telephone, please contact Nancy King Dennis.

CONTACT: Nancy King Dennis | 334.551.0643 | 800.239.5423

facebook   twitter