Alabama’s delivery license law has been updated.
Act No. 2019-283 by Rep. Paul Lee, R-Dothan, clarifies that a municipality can only require businesses to purchase one delivery license, not a separate license for each delivery vehicle.
Gov. Kay Ivey signed the law May 28, and it went into effect immediately.
Since May 2017, Alabama retailers have been able to deliver up to $10,000 in merchandise annually to a city where it does not have a store or other physical presence before a $100 delivery license is required. The Alabama Retail Association-backed law also caps issuance fees and penalties at $10 each and limits interest rates. A business has 45 days to get a delivery license once that business reaches the $10,000 annual threshold.
This article is part of the Alabama Retail Report, a communication for Alabama Retail Association members. Not a member? Join us!