Alabama Retail Association endorses in advance of the General Election

MONTGOMERY – Alabama RetailPAC, the Alabama Retail Association’s state political action committee, has made its 2022 endorsements for the Nov. 8 General Election.

Alabama Retail Association PAC, Alabama Retail’s federal political action committee, also has made endorsements for the U.S. Senate and all of Alabama’s U.S. House of Representatives seats.

Endorsements for both PACs relate to candidates who face opposition on Nov. 8.

The Alabama Retail Association believes these candidates understand the issues retailers face and that, if elected, these individuals will give retailers’ interests a fair hearing,” said Alabama Retail Chairman Jodie Stanfield. The Retail Association closely evaluates each candidate’s record and discusses the ramifications of each race before granting its endorsement. “We are confident these candidates are the best choices for these positions,” said Alabama Retail President Rick Brown.

For the state’s constitutional offices, RetailPAC endorses:

  • Governor Kay Ivey*
  • Lt. Gov. Will Ainsworth*
  • Attorney General Steve Marshall*
  • Secretary of State: Wes Allen
  • Treasurer Young Boozer*
  • Auditor: Andrew Sorrell
  • Agriculture and Industries Commissioner Rick Pate*

For the appellate court race, RetailPAC endorses:

  • Place 5 Associate Supreme Court Justice: Greg Cook

For the Alabama Senate, RetailPAC endorses:

  • District 2: Tom Butler, R-Madison*
  • District 3: Arthur Orr, R-Decatur*
  • District 6: Larry Stutts, R-Tuscumbia*
  • District 7: Sam Givhan, R-Huntsville*
  • District 12: Keith Kelley, R-Anniston
  • District 15: Dan Roberts, R-Birmingham*
  • District 17: Shay Shelnutt, R-Trussville*
  • District 19: Merika Coleman, D-Birmingham
  • District 21: Gerald Allen, R-Tuscaloosa*
  • District 23: Robert Stewart, D-Selma
  • District 24: Bobby Singleton, D-Greensboro*
  • District 25: Will Barfoot, R-Pike Road*
  • District 27: Jay Hovey, R-Auburn
  • District 28: Billy Beasley, D-Clayton*
  • District 29: Donnie Cheesten, R-Geneva*
  • District 33: Vivian Davis Figures, D-Mobile*
  • District 35: David Sessions, R-Mobile*

For the Alabama House of Representatives, RetailPAC endorses:

  • District 3: Kerry “Bubba” Underwood, R-Tuscumbia
  • District 6: Andy Whitt, R-Harvest*
  • District 7: Ernie Yarbrough, R-Trinity
  • District 8: Terri Collins, R-Decatur*
  • District 9: Scott Stadthagan, R-Hartselle*
  • District 10: David Cole, R-Madison
  • District 12: Corey Harbison, R-Cullman*
  • District 13: Matt Woods, R-Jasper
  • District 15: Leigh Hulsey, R-Helena
  • District 18: Jamie Kiel, R-Russellville*
  • District 25: Phillip Rigsby, R-Huntsville
  • District 26: Brock Colvin, R-Albertville
  • District 27: Wes Kitchens, R-Arab*
  • District 29: Mark Gidley, R-Gadsden
  • District 32: Barbara Boyd, D-Anniston*
  • District 33: Ben Robbins, R-Sylacauga*
  • District 38: Debbie Hamby Wood, R-Valley*
  • District 40: Chad Robertson, R-Heflin
  • District 41: Corley Ellis, R-Columbiana*
  • District 42: Ivan Smith, R-Billingsley*
  • District 43: Arnold Mooney, R-Birmingham*
  • District 44: Danny Garrett, R-Trussville*
  • District 45: Susan Dubose, R-Hoover
  • District 47: Mike Shaw, R-Hoover
  • District 48: Jim Carns, R-Vestavia Hills*
  • District 56: Ontario Tillman, D-Bessemer
  • District 57: Patrick Sellers, D-Pleasant Grove
  • District 60: Juandalynn Givan, D-Birmingham*
  • District 61: Ronald Bolton, R-Northport
  • District 62: Bill Lamb, R-Tuscaloosa
  • District 63: Cynthia Lee Almond, R-Tuscaloosa*
  • District 64: Donna Givens, R-Loxley
  • District 65: Brett Easterbrook, R-Fruitdale*
  • District 68: Thomas “Action” Jackson, D-Thomasville*
  • District 69: Kelvin Lawrence, D-Hayneville*
  • District 74: Charlotte Meadows, R-Montgomery*
  • District 76: Patrice “Penni” McClammy, D-Montgomery*
  • District 79: Joe Lovvorn, R-Auburn*
  • District 82: Pebblin Walker Warren, D-Tuskegee*
  • District 85: Dexter Grimsley, D-Newville*
  • District 88: Jerry Starnes, R-Prattville
  • District 92: Matthew Hammett, R-Andalusia
  • District 94: Jennifer Fidler, R-Silverhill
  • District 95: Frances Holk-Jones, R-Mobile
  • District 100: Mark Shirey, R-Mobile
  • District 104: Margie Wilcox, R-Mobile*
  • District 105: Chip Brown, R-Mobile*

Alabama Retail Association PAC endorses these federal candidates:

  • U.S. Senate: Katie Britt, R-Montgomery
  • 1st District U.S. Rep. Jerry Carl, R-Mobile*
  • 2nd District U.S. Rep. Barry Moore, R-Enterprise*
  • 3rd District U.S. Rep. Mike Rogers, R-Weaver*
  • 4th District U.S. Rep. Robert Aderholt, R-Haleyville*
  • 5th District: Dale Strong, R-Monrovia
  • 6th District U.S. Rep. Gary Palmer, R-Birmingham*
  • 7th District U.S. Rep. Terri Sewell, D-Birmingham*


The Alabama Retail Association represents retailers, the largest private employer in the state of Alabama, before the Alabama Legislature and the U.S. Congress. Through sales of food, clothing, furniture, medicine and more, our 4,300 independent merchant and national company members touch almost every aspect of daily living. Since 1943, we’ve worked to promote what’s best for the retail industry in Alabama. Whether voicing the retail view when public policy is made, educating members about issues that impact them, negotiating rates for benefits and services or communicating the retail story, the Alabama Retail Association and its members are better together.

Nancy King Dennis,  Alabama Retail Association | 334.551.0643 | 800.239.5423