Retail Association makes endorsements for June 5 primary

MONTGOMERY – Alabama RetailPAC, the Alabama Retail Association’s state political action committee, has made its first major endorsements in advance of the 2018 campaign cycle.

Alabama Retail Association PAC, Alabama Retail’s federal political action committee, has made endorsements in two U.S. House of Representative races.

The endorsements by both PACs relate to candidates who face opposition in the June 5 primaries. Incumbents are indicated with an asterisk.

More endorsements could be forthcoming as the campaigns progress.

The Alabama Retail Association believes these candidates understand the issues retailers face and that, if elected, these individuals will give retailers’ interests a fair hearing,” said Alabama Retail Chairman Jacob Shevin. The Retail Association closely evaluates each candidate’s record and discusses the ramifications of each race before granting its endorsement. “We are confident these candidates are the best choices for these positions,” said Alabama Retail President Rick Brown.

For the state’s constitutional offices, RetailPAC endorses:

  • Governor Kay Ivey*
  • Lieutenant Governor: Twinkle Cavanaugh
  • Attorney General Steve Marshall*
  • Secretary of State John Merrill*
  • State Treasurer: John McMillan

For the appellate court races, RetailPAC endorses:

  • Supreme Court Chief Justice Lyn Stuart*
  • Place 1 Associate Supreme Court Justice Brad Mendheim*
  • Place 4 Associate Supreme Court Justice: Jay Mitchell
  • Place 1 Court of Civil Appeals Judge: Christy Edwards
  • Place 2 Court of Civil Appeals Judge Terri Thomas*
  • Place 1 Court of Criminal Appeals Judge: Richard Minor
  • Place 2 Court of Criminal Appeals Judge: Chris McCool
  • Place 3 Court of Criminal Appeals Judge: Bill Cole

For the Alabama Senate, RetailPAC endorses:

  • District 2: Tom Butler, R-Huntsville
  • District 4: Garlan Gudger, R-Cullman
  • District 6: Larry Stutts, R-Tuscumbia*
  • District 8: Steve Livingston, R-Scottsboro*
  • District 10: Mack Butler, R-Rainbow City
  • District 12: Del Marsh, R-Anniston*
  • District 13: Randy Price, R-Opelika
  • District 21: Gerald Allen, R-Tuscaloosa*
  • District 25: Ronda Walker, R-Montgomery
  • District 26: John Knight, D-Montgomery
  • District 32: Chris Elliott, R-Fairhope
  • District 33: Vivian Davis Figures, D-Mobile*
  • District 34: Jack Williams, R-Wilmer 

For the Alabama House of Representatives, RetailPAC endorses:

  • District 4: Parker Moore, R-Decatur
  • District 9: Scott Stadthagen, R-Hartselle
  • District 10: Mike Ball, R-Madison*
  • District 12: Corey Harbison, R-Cullman*
  • District 14: Tim Wadsworth, R-Arley*
  • District 16: Kyle South, R-Fayette*
  • District 19: Laura Hall, D-Huntsville*
  • District 22: Ritchie Whorton, R-Owens Cross Roads*
  • District 27: Wes Kitchens, R-Arab
  • District 30: Robert McKay, R-Ashville
  • District 31: Mike Holmes, R-Wetumpka*
  • District 32: Barbara Boyd, D-Anniston*
  • District 33: Ron Johnson, R-Sylacauga*
  • District 39: Ginny Shaver, R-Leesburg
  • District 42: Jimmy Martin, R-Clanton*
  • District 45: Dickie Drake, R-Leeds*
  • District 48: Jim Carns, R-Birmingham*
  • District 49: April Weaver, R-Alabaster*
  • District 55: Rod Scott, D-Fairfield*
  • District 56: Louise Alexander, D-Bessemer*
  • District 58: Rolanda Hollis, D-Birmingham*
  • District 60: Juandalynn Givan, D-Birmingham*
  • District 64: Harry Shiver, R-Bay Minette*
  • District 65: Elaine Beech, D-Chatom*
  • District 67: Prince Chestnut, D-Selma*
  • District 69: Kelvin Lawrence, D-Hayneville*
  • District 73: Matt Fridy, R-Montevallo*
  • District 76: Thad McClammy, D-Montgomery*
  • District 77: Malcolm Calhoun, D-Montgomery
  • District 82: Pebblin Warren, D-Tuskegee*
  • District 85: Dexter Grimsley, D-Newville*
  • District 87: Jeff Sorrells, R-Hartford
  • District 91: Rhett Marques, R-Enterprise
  • District 97: Adline Clarke, D-Mobile*
  • District 102: Willie Gray, R-Citronelle
  • District 105: Chip Brown, R-Mobile

Alabama Retail Association PAC endorses these federal candidates:

  • 2nd District: U.S. Rep. Martha Roby, R-Montgomery*
  • 4th District: U.S. Rep. Robert Aderholt, R-Haleyville*


The Alabama Retail Association represents retailers, the largest private employer in the state of Alabama, before the Alabama Legislature and the U.S. Congress. Through sales of food, clothing, furniture, medicine and more, our 4,200 independent merchant and national company members touch almost every aspect of daily living. Since 1943, we’ve worked to promote what’s best for the retail industry in Alabama. Whether voicing the retail view when public policy is made, educating members about issues that impact them, negotiating rates for benefits and services or communicating the retail story, the Alabama Retail Association and its members are better together.

Nancy Dennis | 334.551.0643 |
Melissa Warnke | 334.551.0631 |

Originally posted April 13, 2018