Gas tax legislation fails to gain traction in 2017 session

Proposed state and county gasoline tax increases for road improvements failed to make it through the legislative process in the 2017 Alabama Legislature regular session.

Alabama House Speaker Mac McCutcheon, R-Capshaw, said it would be at least 2019 before a statewide gas tax proposal would resurface.

The current Alabama tax on each gallon of gasoline is 18 cents. According to the Alabama Department of Revenue, 27 counties and about 320 municipalities also have local gas taxes.

This article is part of the Alabama Retail Report, a communication for Alabama Retail Association members. Not a member? Join us!

Reprints or republishing are welcomed but require permission. Contact us for permission.