Alabama Retailer of the Year

The Alabama Retail Association sponsors the annual Retailer of the Year program. Nominees must operate or manage a retail business in Alabama, which has been in business for at least five years. To be considered a retailer, the business must collect state and local sales taxes. (Banks, insurance agencies and dry cleaners do not qualify.) Gold winners can only be recognized once within a sales category. All other previous winners can be nominated in subsequent years. Once Alabama Retail receives a nomination, the nominee is sent a complete entry form to be used in the judging process.

Due to the interruption of business operations resulting from the novel coronavirus, the Retailer of the Year program has been suspended for 2020. Any nominations received will be held for future use.


If sufficient nominations are received, honorees are selected in four categories by Alabama annual sales volume:

  • less than $1 million
  • $1 million to $5 million
  • $5 million to $20 million; and
  • more than $20 million

A Bronze, Silver and Gold Award may be presented in each category.

The honorees and their nominators will be invited to attend the Retail Day awards luncheon in Birmingham.

>> List of Retailers of the Year Since 1999

>> Read and watch videos about the 2019 honorees (pictured)


In memory of the late Alabama Retail board member and UAB professor Mickey Gee, the Gee Emerging Retailer of the Year Award goes to an innovative and effective Alabama retailer who has been in business for at least two years, but less than five years. The award will only be presented in years when the Retailer of the Year judges feel there is a candidate worthy of the Gee name. To nominate someone for this award, simply complete a Retailer of the Year nomination form and indicate in the section about why you are nominating them. They will be placed in the Gee Emerging Retailer of the Year award based on information they provide in their Retailer of the Year entry form.